Skip to content

Autumn Community Bush Walk

March 15, 2023

Thursday 30 March 2023, 5 pm

Come and enjoy an evening stroll in the Muckleford Bushland

  • Meet at the BBQ area, Rotunda Park
  • BYO drink, snack, sunscreen, first aid kit
  • Moderate level of fitness required.
  • Route will be on gravel roads and tracks
  • Distance will be approx 6-7 kms.
  • Cancelled if it is a Code Red Day

For more information please contact:  Jen 0438 568 736

If you would like a poster of this event please find it here.

Enjoy an evening stroll in the Muckleford

November 22, 2022

Newstead Walks & Wheels invites everyone to come on a delightful bush stroll in the Muckleford Forest on Thursday 8 December, 5pm.

Invite your friends and neighbours too – here’s a poster to share.

Meet at the BBQ area, Rotunda Park. BYO drink, snack, sunscreen, first aid kit – and dress for the weather.

The route will be on gravel roads and tracks and a moderate level of fitness required. The distance will be approx. 6-7 kms and we expect to be back at Rotunda Park around 7.30pm. The walk will be cancelled if it is a Code Red Day.

For more information please contact:  Jen 0438 568 736.

An initiative of Newstead Walks and Wheels

The new Active Transport Reference Group needs you!

October 27, 2022

As a part of the Active Transport Strategy development, MASC is setting up a new Active Transport Ongoing Reference Group. Please consider joining it.

What is active transport? ‘Active Transport is a term which describes many forms of physical travel and movement, across a range of activities including walking, cycling, scooting, using prams, mobility scooters and wheelchairs.’

The Reference Group will work with Council to provide advice on improving active transport in the Shire.
Council’s looking to hear from residents who are passionate about active transport, and have an association with, or are engaged in active transport.

If this sounds like you, visit and express your interest by Friday 4 November.

There will also be a range of opportunities for residents to input to the strategy development.

Steven Oliver is the Council Officer coordinating the strategy development. His details are on the web page.

Welcome to our new Committee

October 7, 2022
Welcome to the new committee (Image: Belinda Fewings on Unsplash)

Newstead 2021’s 2021/22 Annual General Meeting (AGM) was held on Thursday 29th September.  The following people were elected as office bearers:

Genevieve Barlow – President

Dimity Fifer – Vice President

Don Culvenor – Secretary

Steve Muller – Treasurer

Newstead 2021 would like to thank these people for taking on office bearer roles.  The Newstead 2021 2022/23 committee will be finalised at the next meeting to be held on 13th October and from the committee, an executive committee will be drawn.

New members are always welcome to join Newstead 2021; there is no joining fee, just fill out the application form or contact the Secretary on

Community Bike Rides in Spring

September 1, 2022

Save the Date: AGM 29 September 2022, 6pm

August 17, 2022

Newstead 2021 has helped our community create and sustain many of Newstead’s great projects: our Community Plan; Renewable Newstead; Community Garden; Arts Hub; Walks & Wheels; Newstead Open Studios; Talking Fire.

So come along to the 2021/2022 AGM for Newstead 2021 Inc on Thursday 29 Sep at 6pm and find out what we have achieved over the last 12 months. Venue: Newstead Community Centre meeting room (at the back of the building). We’ll let everyone know about the agenda and reports at least 2 weeks beforehand.

Some of our office-bearers will be stepping down at the AGM, so it’s time to put your hand up! Newstead 2021 is on the hunt for a new President and Secretary. Interested? Contact Newstead 2021 ( for a chat with Genevieve Barlow (President) or Jane Lean (Secretary) who hold those positions now. Steve Muller, a newcomer to Newstead, has kindly agreed to nominate as Treasurer and take over that role from Geoff Park.

If you are not already a member of Newstead 2021, please join. It’s free, but you do need to fill in a membership form each year. So if you can’t recall filling one in recently, it’s probably time to renew. Download a membership form,  or if you need a hard copy form, please email Jane Lean – – and she will send you one.

On your bike: cycling program for teens & tweens

March 14, 2022

Get on your bike

February 5, 2022

Join in the upcoming community rides. Dust off your old treadlie, find your helmet and you’re set. Newstead’s Walks and Wheels group welcomes all comers to these fantastic events.

Who will be our next councillor?

October 9, 2020

The candidates, Damien Kingsbury, Hilton Hazeltine and Matt Driscoll, vying for election as the Loddon Ward representative on Mount Alexander Shire Council addressed an online forum hosted by Newstead 2021 Inc on Oct 7, 2020.

Each explained why he wanted to be our local government councillor.

If you missed it, don’t worry. Click here to watch it.

Our thanks to the candidates, our host N2021 Inc President Sharon Fraser and conversation manager Chris Johnston. We wish the candidates success and thank them for their willingness to represent our ward.

Our thanks also to Cr John Nieman who has represented Loddon Ward for the past three years and is stepping down.

Make sure you complete your postal vote. Ballot packs were mailed to voters on October 8. Voting closes 6pm , Friday Oct 23. Results will be declared Friday Nov 13, 2020.

2019 AGM minutes

March 19, 2020

Here are the minutes from our 2019 AGM, held at the Newstead Community Garden on Tuesday 19th November 2019.

Click here to view or download.